---
title: Set the Default Connection Authentication (Connect Auth) Policy for Users
canonical: https://openvpn.net/cloud-docs/owner/settings/settings---users/set-the-default-connection-authentication--connect-auth--policy-for-users/
product: CloudConnexa Docs
description: The default “Connect Auth“ parameter value is used for newly created User Groups. While all connection attempts are authenticated based on the digital certificate that is part of the Profile, the “Connect Auth“ configuration determines if and when the user is prompted for account credentials.
keywords: connection authentication
---

# Set the Default Connection Authentication (Connect Auth) Policy for Users

The default **Connect Auth** parameter value is used for newly created User Groups. While all connection attempts are authenticated based on the digital certificate that is part of the Profile, the **Connect Auth** configuration determines if and when the user is prompted for account credentials.

> **Note**
>
> The **Connect Auth** policy applies only to connections from the User's devices and not to Connectors.

The default **Connect Auth** value is set to **On prior auth timeout**, meaning the user will not be prompted for credentials during the 12 hours following a successfully authenticated connection. If you want to change this value, follow the steps below:

1. Sign in to your WPC's Administration Portal at your **Cloud ID** address (for example, `yourcompany.openvpn.com`).
2. Navigate to **Settings \> Users**.
3. Click **Edit**, which is located in the top right corner.
4. Select one of the other options for **Connect Auth**. Selecting **No** would mean the user will not be prompted for credentials during a connection attempt. Selecting **Every time** would mean the user would be prompted for credentials during every connection attempt.
5. Click **Update**.
6. Check that the details shown in the confirmation dialog box are correct, and click **Confirm**.

> **Note**
>
> The setting here is to set the value for **Connect Auth** when new User Groups are created. If User Groups existed before this setting was changed, you would need to edit the settings for those User Groups.

## Tutorial showing how to change the connection timeout value

## Related Video

[Video: Configure Connection Authentication Policy](https://openvpn.net/cloud-docs/videos/configuration/authentication/video--configure-connection-authentication-policy.md)

---

Prev: [Connection Timeout](https://openvpn.net/cloud-docs/owner/settings/settings---users/set-the-timeout-value-for-user-connections.md)
Next: [Default Max Devices Per User](https://openvpn.net/cloud-docs/owner/settings/settings---users/set-the-default-max-devices-per-user.md)
Index: https://openvpn.net/cloud-docs/llms.txt
