ON THIS PAGE
Tools: Profiles gives you the ability to choose which configuration profiles to use for the Access Server and gives you the ability to configure the different profiles. Its sole purpose is for providing a UI that makes managing these profiles simple.
About the Page
Tools: Profiles allows you to configure different client profiles. You can set a default profile, edit existing profiles, create new profiles, or delete a profile.
What is a Configuration Profile?
A configuration profile contains all settings used by Access Server with the exception of the User Permissions database and keys and certificates used by the SSL server components. These are all of the configuration settings you define with the Admin Web UI, saved as a single collection. You can create multiple configuration profiles for different purposes. Common reasons for having multiple configuration profiles include testing, clustering, various authentication protocols, and granting access to different sub-networks.
The Active Profile allows you to determine which configuration profile Access Server uses. You can select any of the configuration profiles you have defined by choosing a profile from the drop-down menu.
Select Profile to Edit
The Select Profile to Edit allows you to choose which configuration profile you view and modify with the Admin Web UI. When you have chosen which profile to edit, all changes you make in the Admin Web UI will apply to that profile. These settings will not affect the Access Server until you have made that profile the Active Profile. By selecting an Edit Profile that is different from the Active Profile, you can edit the Access Server configuration without altering the behavior of the VPN Server (and thus, any current VPN client users will not be affected by editing changes). If the Edit Profile is the same as the Active Profile, then changes saved in the Admin Web UI can affect current VPN client users, once the running server is updated.
Create a New Configuration Profile
This section allows you to create a new configuration profile. This is ideal for creating profiles for specific users. Here you can also create test profiles that you can use for the Access Server. By checking the box next to Allow overwrite of existing profile, any new profile you create that has the same name as an older profile will overwrite the older profile. You cannot overwrite the active profile nor the edit profile.
Delete a Configuration Profile
This section allows you to delete configuration profiles. Once deleted, you will not be able to recover this profile. You cannot delete the Active Profile nor the Edit Profile.
Tools: Profiles gives you the ability to choose which configuration profiles to use for the Access Server and gives you the ability to configure the different profiles.